Pet Shop Boys – Their 10 most addictive songs!

psb
The Pet Shop Boys are an incredibly talented and witty duo from England who started out pretty much when new wave music was at its peak in the mid 80s and are still going strong today, having survived the alternative 90s and the indie 2000s. I recently found their double disc hits collection titled ‘PopArt’ at an amazing price of only 60 rand. So I didn’t think too much before getting it. Already had their single disc compilation ‘Discography’ but this double disc one was too good to miss at this great price. I’ve been listening to these 2 CDs continuously over the past few days and so decided to put together a Top 10 list of favourite songs. Here it is:

Can You Forgive Her?
This was a fantastic song accompanied by a bright and colourful CGI video that came out during the peak of my music obsession years in the early 90s. I could not get enough of this song back then and I still cannot get enough of it now. It is probably my number one favourite of theirs.
Fav lyric: You drift on to the strangest dreams of youthful follies and changing teams. Admit you’re wrong, oh no, not yet. Then you wake up and remember that you can’t forget.

Being Boring
I love everything here! – the quiet hushed lower register vocals, the relaxed medium-paced tempo, the warm nostalgic lyrics… This came out in 1990 and it really sounds it. It definitely has this vibe of leaving the 80s behind and stepping into a new darker world of the 90s. This same feeling exists in other songs from this era too like Jealousy and DJ Culture.
Fav lyric: We were never holding back or worried that time would come to an end. We were always hoping that, looking back you could always rely on a friend.

Left To My Own Devices
This one has some interesting experimentation with a symphonic intro and outro for an otherwise fast-paced electronic track. Interesting lyrics too, which are sung in a sort of storytelling style that I really like.
Fav lyric: I was faced with a choice at a difficult age. Would I write a book? Or should I take to the stage? But in the back of my head I heard distant feet, Che Guevara and Debussy to a disco beat.

Suburbia
This classic 80s track wonderfully describes how it is like living in the suburbs, complete with dog barking noises and police car sirens.
Fav lyric: Break the window by the town hall. Listen, a siren screams. There in the distance like a roll call of all the suburban dreams.

Se A Vida E
I love this happy tune about enjoying life and having fun with the people around you. Set to a Latin American style beat, this one is bursting with optimism and… life, really. That’s the way life is!
Fav lyric: So don’t search in the stars for signs of love. Look around your life, you’ll find enough.

Rent
A dark Depeche Mode like tune, it tells the story of a somewhat dysfunctional couple in first person. With addictive synths and backing vocal Ooohs, this is a delicious little 80s track of theirs.
Fav lyric: You took me to a restaurant off Broadway to tell me who you are. We never ever argue, we never calculate the currency we’ve spent. I love you, you pay my rent.

Yesterday When I Was Mad
I am a sucker for Eurodance music. There, I said it! But this is how it would sound if it were intelligent. Packed with witty lyrics and a high speed dance beat, this one is loads of fun!
Fav lyric: Then we posed for pictures with the competition winners and argued about the hotel rooms and where to go for dinner. And someone said “It’s fabulous you’re still around today. You’ve both made such a little go a very long way.”

Go West
This is one of their most popular songs and it is actually a cover of a Village People number. But to be very honest, I prefer the PSB version. The video for this single was all CGI and colourful, similar to all the other videos from the ‘Very’ album.
Fav lyric: There where the air is free, we’ll be what we want to be. Now if we make a stand, we’ll find our promised land.

West End Girls
This was the very first hit single that still sends chills down my spine with that rush of synth in the intro and the wonderful lyrics that makes me want to visit London’s West End at some point in my life.
Fav lyric: We’ve got no future, we’ve got no past. Here today, built to last. In every city, in every nation from Lake Geneva to the Finland station.

Opportunities (Let’s Make Lots of Money)
This is actually the first PSB song that I ever heard, thanks to being exposed to the Grammy ’87 nominations. Opportunities is a very witty and practical song about making money. But there is a heavy nostalgia factor too for me over here. With great vocals and an exhilarating beat, this is definitely a classic!
Fav lyric: You can tell I’m educated, I studied at the Sorbonne. Doctored in Mathematics, I could’ve been a don. I can program a computer, choose the perfect time. If you’ve got the inclination, I have got the crime.

Posted on December 5, 2014, in Music. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Yeah it is such a happy song!

Leave a Reply

