Durban – Just perfect during off-peak season!

Durban North Beach at night

About a week before Easter, I had to go on a business trip to Durban. It just so happened that the day I was going to leave there was a problem at home that my wife couldn’t deal with by herself. So with permission from my boss I decided to take her with me. And it turned out to be a great trip combining business and leisure.

We were lucky to be doing this trip just a week before the mad rush of Easter holidays which is basically the other peak season after New Year’s Eve. The weather was beautiful and pretty much perfect to go to the many beaches there, except on the last day when it rained. The thing is, I have seen Durban during the ‘peakest’ of peak seasons and it ain’t pretty! The rush of people and the long queues especially at top tourist attractions like uShaka Marine World gets a little too hectic to deal with. My mom and sis were visiting South Africa this past New Year’s and we tried to cover as much as possible during their short 2-week foreign trip. We made it to Kruger Park, the Drakensberg mountains and Durban, all within that one week between Christmas and New Year’s. The former two were nice and peaceful but Durban was nuts! Doesn’t mean that we didn’t enjoy it but I had seen the city during a much calmer, more beautiful time of the year in August. Somehow even the water in the oceans looked bluer and prettier during off-peak season, from what I can recall. I’m not imagining this… honest!

So anyway, this time it was just great! We missed the peak rush, I got my work done and we enjoyed the evenings and adjoining weekend as well. We visited this absolutely gorgeous park called Mitchell Park in the suburb of Morningside and my wife went crazy with her camera. We also went to the main area of North Beach, Umhlanga Rocks and Umdloti Beach. North Beach during evening time was so beautiful, calm and peaceful, I had no idea! The other two we visited the next morning before driving back to Joburg.

So if you ever plan to go see what Durban is all about, I say go during off-peak season. It’s a world of difference!

Posted on April 28, 2011, in Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Great post. I love missing the peak seasons. Wonderful photo.

  2. Glad you enjoyed it. Nice pic, btw! 🙂

Leave a Reply

